Radiation Safety Committees

Radiation Safety Committee Morningside Campus

The Radiation Safety Committee of Columbia University supervises and oversees the use of radioactive materials and radiation-generating devices for:

  • Morningside Campus
  • Barnard College
  • Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
  • Nevis Laboratories



Christopher Pitoscia - Manager Research Safety

Joint Radiation Safety Committee (JRSC)

The Joint Radiation Safety Committee supervises and oversees the use of radioactive materials and radiation-generating devices for Columbia University Medical Center, New York Presbyterian and Allen Hospitals and New York State Psychiatric Institute.  This includes the use of radioactive materials for in vitro research, clinical diagnosis and treatment and clinical trials research.

The following is a list of the outside consulting medical physicists:

Maynard D. High, Ph.D.
Thomas Lowinger, Ph.D.
Neal Tobochnik, Ph.D.

Last updated on September 24, 2012.

Joshua L. Weintraub - Chairman, Joint Radiation Safety Committee, Professor of Radiology (in Surgery) at CUMC


Alternate Members


Non-voting Management Member

Deborah F. Stiles - Vice President for Research Operations

Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC)

The RDRC, is chartered by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and is responsible for reviewing and approving research involving the administration of unapproved radiopharmaceuticals intended to solely obtain information about the human physiology, pathophysiology, biochemistry or metabolism of the drug. The RDRC review and approval of such studies is in lieu of obtaining a FDA review and approval of an investigational new drug (IND) application.

Committees Contact:
Yvette Acevedo
Senior Coordinator Radiation Safety Committees
Columbia University
Radiation Safety Office
Email: yc21@columbia.edu  
Tel: (212) 305-4095

Joseph G. Jurcic - Chairman, Radioactive Drug Research Committee Professor of Medicine at CUMC Director, Hematologic Malignancies Section Division of Hematology/Oncology


Non-voting management Member

Deborah F. Stiles – Vice President for Research Operations