Federal Agency Forums

Federal agencies provide about $800 million annually to fund research across every school and campus at the university and a total of $1.1B including direct support of education and contributions to help sustain the underlying research infrastructure. Columbia is proud of these longstanding partnerships, which enable our researchers’ success. EVPR Jeannette Wing is committed to showcasing results of our agency-funded research activities and increasing engagement with our funders’ dynamic programs and priorities.

Agency visits create a forum to bring students, faculty, and researchers together with high-level federal agency administrators to better understand current initiatives and research-funding priorities at the national level; discuss opportunities and challenges in specific fields; and highlight our own wide-ranging, agency-funded projects.

Below is a calendar of upcoming and past visits by federal agency leaders. If you are organizing such an event, Columbia Research would be happy to extend your reach by highlighting it on this page. Please send us a brief message to [email protected].


NSF TIP at Morningside | July 21, 2022

Visit from Dr. Erwin Gianchandani, Assistant Director for Technology, Innovation and Partnerships (TIP), National Science Foundation (NSF), on campus visit

First announced in March 2022, following bipartisan Congressional legislation, the new NSF TIP directorate aims to accelerate use-inspired and translational research. Its mission will support not only breakthrough technologies but also positive impacts for the American economy, labor-force, and society at large. (See an online presentation here.)

Dr. Gianchandani, inaugural Assistant Director for TIP, will visit Morningside to speak about this new directorate’s vision and its emerging slate of funding programs.

This is an in-person event.

Thursday, July 21, 2022
9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Northwest Corner Building
550 W 120th Street
New York, NY 10027

Agenda TBA


NOAA at Lamont-Doherty | March 25, 2022

Dr. Richard Spinrad, Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans & Atmosphere and Administrator of the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), on campus visit

NOAA is one of the most important and visionary research sponsors for the Climate School and the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, funding 65 projects over the past five years.

Dr. Spinrad, Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans & Atmosphere and Administrator of NOAA, visited Lamont-Doherty to share its new strategic plan prioritizing the Blue Economy, local climate services, and equity and inclusion.

This was an in-person event.

NOAA Town Hall
Friday, March 25, 2022
12:30 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
Monell Auditorium, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
61 Route 9W, Palisades, NY 10964


Dr. Maureen Raymo, Co-Founding Dean of the Columbia Climate School; Director of the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory

Dr. Jeannette Wing, Executive Vice President for Research, Columbia University

Lightning talks by: Dr. Galen McKinley, Dr. Ajit Subramaniam, Mr. Thaddeus Pawlowski, Dr. Suzana Camargo, Dr. Daniel Westervelt, Dr. Pierre Gentine, Dr. Jason Smerdon 

News article 

DOE at Morningside | November 19, 2021

Dr. David Turk, Acting Director, Directorate of Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks, Head of the Energy Environment Division, International Energy Agency, virtual visit

The Department of Energy funds important growth areas for the university due to mutual interests in priority areas across climate, energy, quantum and materials, and AI and technology.

In Dr. Turk’s visit to Columbia, he spoke to DOE’s research priorities and heard about Columbia’s intersecting research.

This was a virtual event.

Visit from Deputy Secretary of Energy - David Turk
Friday, November 19, 2022
3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.


Dr. Jeannette Wing, Executive Vice President for Research, Columbia University

Lightning talks by: Dr. Dmitri Basov, Dr. Keren Bergman, Dr. Marcus Van Lier-Walqui, Dr. Alissa Park, Dr. Michael Mauel 

Moderated Roundtable Discussion: Dr. Robert Mawhinney, Dr. Daniel Steingart, Dr. Oleg Gang, Dr. Shahid Naeem, Dr. Jason Bordoff